The Recipe That Won Over My Husband

I have to admit.. even though I love to cook, I don’t love to cook during the week. I see shabbat as my time to shine in the kitchen. Friday morning, I dive in head first, make a huge mess, come out with a huge meal, and have to clean it all up – it’s all worth it the second shabbat hits and I know the weekend will be filled with good company [for the most part] and lots of food. There will be times during the week when I really want to make or bake something, but most of the time I have a hard time coming up with ideas and forcing myself to do the dishes.

For the past two and half years, I have been doing my best to come up with good weekday dinner ideas that are both impressive in the eyes of my husband, and super easy for me. Thankfully, my husband isn’t too picky and will pretty much eat whatever is put in front of him, but after putting out main dishes with side dishes and salads (different recipes each time)… I tried something simple.

Macaroni and Cheese

…and to my surprise, that’s what did it. The first time we sat down to a macaroni and cheese dinner Ari says:

“You could make this for dinner every night and I’d be so happy.”

Is it my favorite? nope – but whatever floats his boat!

So now… whenever I can’t think of what to make, this is what I do.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb. Elbows pasta (about two cups)
  • 2 Tbs Butter/Margarine
  • 2 Tbs Osem Onion Soup Mix (I suppose you can use Goodman’s if you can’t find)
  • 2 Tbs Flour
  • 2 Cups Milk
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • whole bunch of salt
  • some pepper
  • 3/4 Cup Shredded cheddar cheese, plus more
  • 1/4 Cup Shredded mozzarella cheese, plus more
  • Homestyle bread crumbs for sprinkling
Directions:
  1. Preheat the oven to 375° F (I always forget to do this until the very end and then I end up having to wait..)
  2. Boil elbow pasta to al dente.
  3. Throw the pasta into a colander, and allow to drain.
  4. On medium to low heat melt butter/margarine. Add onion soup mix and whisk into the butter. Add flour and whisk again. 
  5. Mix in milk and stir until mixture can coat the back of a wooden spoon. (Don’t try this at home, it just makes more dishes.. just wait until the mixture begins to thicken)
  6. Add the cayenne pepper, salt, and ground black pepper. Stir in the cheeses until melted. 
  7. Add the pasta and mix well.
  8. Pour into an 8 x 8 glass dish and sprinkle with both cheeses, some breadcrumbs, and some cayenne pepper.
  9. Bake for 30 minutes, until slightly golden on top.

[Goes great with Frank’s Red Hot Sauce]

Modified Martha Stewart recipe to be made kosher and a lot better.

g-night!

Li-or

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Recipe That Won Over My Husband

  1. Alex Baruch says:

    I’m pretty excited to make this for dinner this weekend, never thought of putting onion soup mix in there! I’ll let you know how it turns out. Shabbat Shalom!

  2. zelda says:

    Very Cute and original mac and cheese. I think I might try it 🙂 thanks!

Leave a Reply

