Chinese Soup

My Mother was born in Israel and is of Moroccan descent. Needless to say, this adds up to some of the best food combinations in the world. In my eyes, my Mom is the best cook (if you’ve had her food, I doubt you’d argue) – she thinks quickly on her feet, and comes up recipes that you would think took years to perfect. I know she learned so much from my Moroccan Savta (Grandmother), but she has definitely broadened her horizons and tackled foods from around the world. Below is her version of the famous ‘Hot and Sour Soup’ served in every Chinese restaurant. I don’t think Chinese people would consider it to be authentic, but it’s seriously my favorite.

Chinese Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 Package of regular mushrooms, peeled (I know most people don’t peel their mushrooms, but I do – See this video) and sliced thin.
  • 2 1/2 Tbs canola oil
  • 2 6oz can tomato paste
  • 2-3 Tbs Chicken soup mix
  • Salt
  • Boiling water
  • 4-5 Tbs Soy Sauce
  • 1/2 tsp Crushed red pepper flakes
  • Tabasco sauce
  • 3 Tbs Corn Starch
  • 1/2 Cup white vinegar
  • 4-5 Eggs, beaten (separately)
  • Green peas (optional)

Directions

  1. In a large soup pot, heat the oil and saute sliced mushrooms until very soft. Remove the mushrooms (leaving the juices in the pot) and set aside.
  2. While on medium to low heat, add 1 1/2 cans of the tomato paste to the pot. Sprinkle the chicken soup mix and a little bit of salt over the tomato paste.
  3. Add a little boiling water (enough to cover the paste) and mix well until all chunks of paste are gone.
  4. Add more water to make a relatively full pot of soup. (about 3 liters)
  5. Add soy sauce and red pepper flakes while mixing.
  6. Shake in some tabasco sauce – (the more tabasco, the more spicy…I like a lot)
  7. In a small cup, mix the corn starch and vinegar until there are no chunks. Slowly add to soup while mixing.
  8. Taste the soup – add whatever you think it is missing out of the ingredients (for me this is usually salt, tomato paste, or tabasco). (I know you don’t know the exact taste I have in mind, but do whatever tastes good)
  9. Let the soup come to a boil, and allow to boil for a few minutes.
  10. While the soup is still boiling, add each beaten egg, one by one to make egg drops. (Or all together with breaks in your pouring)
  11. Once the egg drops have formed, add some frozen peas for color.

[Photoshopped the peas in because I didn’t have any that day]

[Really great with crispy fried noodles…the ones they serve with duck sauce]

Stay warm!

Li-or

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Chinese Soup

  1. Rena says:

    Li-or, I wanted to make this today but alas I couldn’t find mushrooms anywhere on our side of the Heights. I am going to make this as soon as I can get some mushrooms (and I finish finals).

  2. Lea Anne says:

    Love the photoshopped peas!

Leave a Reply

