A Bunch of Crapple…

Before the cranberries go out of season, I thought I would share one of the best sides for Fall/Winter. Crapple. For those of you who didn’t go to Camp Stone, Crapple is another name for Cranberry Apple Crunch. I don’t know who made up the name [if you do, comment below and I will gladly insert their name here] but needless to say, it’s brilliant.

Camp Stone (shout-out to Mitbach ’07) is actually where I was first introduced to the whole idea of cranberry apple crunch. Coming from a Moroccan kitchen, where this recipe is definitely considered to be a dessert, I didn’t even know where to begin. When the head of the kitchen asked me to make 12 large pans of crapple and handed me a list of ingredients, I simply mixed all the ingredients together and threw them in the pan. Once everyone was done laughing at me, I quickly learned how to make and love this dish.

Since my Camp Stone days, I have been introduced to my mother-in-law’s crapple (or Cranberry Nut Crunch) and happen to enjoy it even more. Every once in a while, though, I crave the original recipe I was introduced to – So here are both…

Kim’s Cranberry Nut Crunch

Ingredients

  • 3 Cups of chopped granny smith apples with peel
  • 2 Cups of whole, raw cranberries
  • 1/4 Cup of sugar

Topping

  • 1 1/3 Cup of oatmeal
  • 1 Cup of chopped pecans
  • 3/4 Cup of sugar
  • 1 Stick of melted margarine

Directions

  1. Set the oven to 350°, and grease a 8×8 pyrex.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the first three ingredients and pour into the prepared dish. 
  3. Mix the topping ingredients and pour over the cran-apple mixture. 
  4. Bake for 1.25 hours, or until it bubbles and the top is getting hard.

For the Camp Stone version: 

Do the same to the apples and cranberries (but peel the apples), and if you don’t have fresh cranberries, take out the sugar and spread a can of whole berry cranberry sauce on top of the apples.

Topping

  • 3/4 Cup of flour
  • 3/4 Cup of oatmeal
  • 2/3 Cup of light brown sugar
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 – 1 Stick of cold margarine

Mix the first four ingredients, add 3/4 stick of cold margarine and mix with fingers until crumbly – add more margarine if it’s too dry.

[Yum]

g-night!

Li-or

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

