When In Doubt, Order the Sesame Chicken

We’ve all been there. Looking at a Chinese restaurant’s crowded menu and finally saying “I guess I’ll just get the sesame chicken..” You went in wanting to try something new, the choices being endless, but inevitably you go with what’s safest. We all do it, cause we all love it. (if you’re a vegetarian, go ahead and swap ‘chicken’ with ‘tofu’.. then ask yourself if you really want to be a vegetarian)

If you don’t already know, I live in NYC on top of a Chinese restaurant (good luck finding me). Does it make my apartment smell? No. Do I eat Chinese food all the time? No. Do I go there every time I don’t want to make dinner? Pretty much.

We always end up ordering what we know – either sesame chicken or general tso’s chicken (which I’m convinced is sesame chicken with some crushed red pepper flakes and a better name.) So when we found a recipe for sesame chicken in the cookbook we got a little while back, we obviously had to try it. We both love it, and it’s super accurate to the restaurant version. If nothing else – it’s your safest bet.

Teriyaki Sesame Chicken

Ingredients 

Batter

  • 3/4 Cup cornstarch
  • 3/4 Cup flour
  • 2 tsp Baking powder
  • 1 tsp Baking soda
  • 1 Cup cold water
  • 3 Lbs Chicken cutlets, cut into 1 inch nuggets
  • 2 Cups oil (canola or vegetable)

Sauce

  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 1/2 Cup brown-rice vinegar
  • 6 Tbs soy sauce
  • 6 Garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
  • 2 Tbs sesame oil
  • 6 Tbs water
  • 2 Tbs cornstarch

Directions

  1. Combine all batter ingredients.
  2. Heat the oil in a wok or pot for ten minutes on medium heat. (I don’t use the full amount of oil [shocking, I know] I just pour in about 3/4 inch of oil into a small pot and fry the chicken in batches)
  3. Dip the nuggets into the batter and then place in the oil carefully. Fry until golden brown. Transfer into an empty bowl. 
  4. While the oil is heating up, while the chicken is frying or soon after – make the sauce. \/
  5. Mix the first five ingredients in a small sauce pan over high heat. Bring to a boil and make sure all the sugar is dissolved.
  6. Mix the water and cornstarch and add to the sauce. Lower heat a little, and mix the sauce until it thickens.  
  7. Pour sauce over chicken and mix well. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

[Serve over white rice.. or brown rice if you want this dish to taste less good.]

*From Fresh & Easy Kosher Cooking by Leah Schapira .. no, I couldn’t come up with an authentic sesame chicken recipe on my own.

Enjoy!

Li-or

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “When In Doubt, Order the Sesame Chicken

  1. Rena says:

    I can’t believe you made that, did it take a long time? Was it worth it?

  2. Li-or says:

    Pretty quick and so easy! Definitely worth it if you like chinese 🙂

  3. Leah says:

    Lior, recipe looks great;) How can I contact you?

Leave a comment